Krafthaus

I have come across Krafthaus when I visited Wool House exhibition in Somerset House earlier this year. You can read about the exhibition in my earlier blog I posted in March. I really liked their beautiful chunky yarn. Since then I have found out that they also produce a whole selection of homeware products using merino wool  sourced from sustainable and ecologically responsible farms.

sixfour_5.NaturalFeltFabric sixfour_13.KnitScarfDonkey

Krafthaus  was established by Stephanie Bentum in 1996, her choice of name inspired by the 1930’s German Bauhaus movement, which combined crafts and the fine arts with industry. They are producing homeware accessories inspired by natural shapes. I find their designs simple yet original in their simplicity allowing them to work so well in both contemporary and traditional interiors.

Picture4

Among a few things I particularly loved in their latest product catalogue are these lambswool felt throws and blankets that come in a number of natural earthy colours.

Picture10

Picture1

And here are some examples of their natural shapes that I particularly liked.

Picture7

Picture9

Picture5

As I mentioned they also create beautiful chunky hand-rolled yarn that could be used to create a variaty of homeware products.

Picture6

sixfour_2.Yarns

I have a few ideas in mind. One of them is a round pouf, my other idea is a chunky cosy blanket for my living room sofa. Some time ago I was looking for suitable chunky yarn just like this and couldn’t find find any. So happy I know where to look now. Just need to decide on the colour now. For my home I am choosing between white, grey or mustard. I think this yarn would also work well to create bags, cushions and even storage boxes. I found a few images below on Pinterest to illustrate the kind of things I want to create with this yarn.

ce5c59c1d596899374cdc17767405484

9682f724629573f28dab4f1f248b2f6a

20ff76839663f717d73d6e852c43cb0e

Krafthaus is based in South Africa but I made enquiries and they will ship to other parts of the world. Look forward to getting creative with their yarn!

This entry was posted in Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

