Stripes and Zig Zags

One of the trends I have recently discovered and really loved is a monocrome stripy or zig-zaggy rug. If you have neglected space in your home this is one of those details that can immediately transform the room from a very ordinary and drab into a bright characterful space.

7029036a22be771a81c230b6a38a915b

5453c652e1e047e3c151acec43aba453

The image above is one of my favourite rooms. I love everything about it, somehow the mirror on the wall works really well with the stripes. The feeling is relaxed and sophisticated at the same time. I think that’s what stripes do, they add a bit more sophistication, a bit more structure to the room so I like when they are combined with more relaxed features like a sheep skin or a floral print cushion to dilute the structure and to avoid appearing too classic.

SAMSUNG

The image above is from the latest issue of Living Etc. and it’s this picture that made me want to try and incorporate a rug like that into my own bedroom. I love the bright colours with the dark background.

Below are a few more ways to use these rugs, picked from Pinterest.

fb20cfaa940edae50f1c1e4fe74ad837   f8913d6a5266a50ad02a1116adee4bc1

72cdbfc78dba30981cd27d8fcf3e2017   9b8ca478e33a1f9dc6d690d9edf1f8ef

I did a quick research to see what’s available on the market and came across these lovely slightly different more ethnic and less classic options from Holly’s House.

zig_zag_rug_grande   black_and_white_rug_grande

They look great, especially I like the square one, but above my budget for something non-essential like that.

This Ikea rug is very popular and I’ve seen it many times in various interiors and it’s a good affordable option.

stockholm-rug-flatwoven__56123_PE161531_S4

But my favourite is this zig zag rug from Urban Outfitters. I hope it looks just as good in real life too.

5532400124000_Black_l4   5532400124000_Black_l2

The rug below is called Olin rug sold by American retailer Crate & Barrel that is shipping to UK. It’s made of 100% cotton and comes in a number of sizes and prices. It looks like a good buy too. olin-black-rug

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

